Congratulations to the 2020-2021 ASCCC Award Winners

ASCCC Standards and Practices Committee Chair


The Exemplary Program Award was established by the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges in 1991 to recognize outstanding community college programs. Selected California community college programs receive cash awards of $4,000, and up to four programs receive honorable mention plaques. The awards are sponsored by the California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office and the Foundation for California Community Colleges.

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) selects an annual theme related to the award’s traditions and statewide trends. The California Community Colleges system is the largest public higher education system in the United States, enrolling over 2.1 million students. The global pandemic that emerged in early 2020 has disrupted much of people’s everyday lives and caused higher education institutions to adapt much more rapidly to the changing landscape in order to best serve their students. In light of the work that colleges and faculty have done to transition most learning to an online environment, the ASCCC focused the theme for the 2020-21 Exemplary Program Award on “Equitable Practices in a Virtual Educational Environment.” These practices can be demonstrated by faculty who have excelled in equitably providing instruction, support, and services to students in virtual formats, whether through distance education, correspondence education, or temporary remote instruction.

For 2020-21, the ASCCC has selected three Exemplary Program Award winners and two honorable mentions.

Award Winners

Sierra College – Undocumented Student (Undocu) Center

Santa Barbara City College – The WELL

Ventura College – Faculty Academy Program

Honorable Mentions

College of the Canyons – Noncredit Program

Oxnard College – Public Safety Department


The Hayward Award for Excellence in Education was established in 1989. Awards have been presented annually to honor community college faculty members who are selected by their peers for demonstrating the highest level of commitment to their students, colleges, and profession. Award recipients, nominated by their college academic senates and selected by representatives of the ASCCC, must have a record of outstanding performance in professional activities as well as active participation on campus. Up to two full-time and two part-time faculty members are selected each year to win the award. The Hayward Awards are supported through a grant from the Foundation for California Community Colleges. Each recipient receives a $1,250 cash award and a commemorative plaque. The award is named in honor of Gerald C. Hayward, who served as chancellor of the California Community Colleges from 1980 to 1985.

For 2020-21, the ASCCC has selected three winners of the Hayward Award for Excellence in Education.

Award Winners

Brandy Thomas, full-time academic counseling faculty member at Butte College.

Peter “Tony” Zitko, part-time political science faculty member at Solano College.

A. James McKeever, full-time sociology faculty member at Los Angeles Pierce College.


Established in 1998 by the ASCCC, the Stanback Stroud Diversity Award each year recognizes one California community college faculty member who has shown outstanding commitment to diversity. Serving the most diverse student population of any higher education system in the country, the California Community Colleges system is largely comprised of demographic groups that have traditionally faced barriers to education and are often underprepared when they reach the classroom. . California community college faculty accept the challenge and responsibility of demonstrating the sustained attention and support necessary to fully engage and excite these students.

The ASCCC bestows the Stanback Stroud Diversity Award upon faculty who work tirelessly to promote student success in one or more of the following: (a) creating an inclusive and supportive campus climate, (b) implementing effective teaching and learning strategies, (c) facilitating student access, retention, and success, and (d) fostering student engagement in campus life. Each local academic senate may nominate one faculty member to receive this prestigious honor, which this year includes a cash award of $5,000. All faculty, both inside and outside of the classroom, are eligible for nomination. One faculty member is chosen for the award and is honored at the ASCCC Spring Plenary Session. The award is named in honor of former ASCCC President Regina Stanback Stroud.

For 2020-21, the ASCCC has selected Dr. Hossna Sadat Ahadi, assistant professor of counseling from Palomar College, for the Stanback Stroud Diversity Award.

Please join the ASCCC in congratulating all of the winners of these prestigious awards. For more information, please visit the ASCCC Awards webpage at