Diversity Award Becomes a Reality


This year the Academic Senate will initiate a new award: The Regina Stanback Stroud Diversity Award. The Executive Committee named the award after the 1993-95 president of the Senate because of her commitment to Diversity. Regina has originated, advanced, and implemented many programs and policies that have significantly increased the ability of the California community colleges to serve the diverse population of the state, including student equity and affirmative action in faculty hiring.

The Foundation for California Community Colleges will provide enough funds for one recipient from each of the four geographical areas to receive a cash award of $500. Those nominated by their local academic senates will be evaluated on the basis of their contributions to diversity for both students and faculty.

Gus Guichard, Vice Chancellor for Human Resources, said he was delighted that the Senate is presenting such awards because they promote goals of the Action Plan developed by the Chancellor 's Office to implement the Board of Governors Commitment to Diversity.

Watch for applications this August.