Standards and Practices

Standards and Practices Committee Chair

It's that time again. As some of you may be aware, this fall begins the initial step in the formal review of the Disciplines List. The Disciplines List establishes the minimum qualifications for the faculty of California community colleges. The passage of AB 1725 delegated to the Academic Senate the responsibility of making recommendations to the Board of Governors for professional preparation for instructors in each discipline in the California Community College curriculum. Every three years the list is reviewed to permit faculty and discipline organizations to propose changes. The Standards and Practices Committee is responsible for coordinating this effort. The Disciplines List review began with a call to the field in September for suggested changes to the list. Discussion of these revisions will occur at Area Meetings this fall and during the 2001 Fall Plenary Session.

In fact, a breakout to debate suggested revisions will be held during the Fall Session. Following the Fall Plenary Session, the proposed list of changes will be sent to local senate presidents, CIOS, CEOs, Curriculum Committee Chairs, and disciplines organizations. A major component of the Disciplines List review happens at statewide hearings prior to 2002 Spring Plenary Session. Prior to submission to the Board of Governors, the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate approves the final versions of the disciplines list change resolutions before being debated at the Spring Plenary Session. The process of the Disciplines List review is a lengthy one that really highlights the cooperative efforts of many groups throughout the state.

While the Disciplines List review will consume most of the Committees time, the Standards and Practices Committee has already begun its work. The Committee has just completed the nomination process for the faculty seat of the Board of Governors. There are two faculty representatives who sit on the Board of Governors. Each serves a two-year term that ends on an alternating basis. The Standards and Practices Committee, in consultation with the President, conducts the initial review of applicants to serve and recommends up to five of these individuals to the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate. The Governor makes the faculty appointments from a list of three recommendations put forward by the Academic Senate. The Standards and Practices Committee is excited to be involved in this very important aspect of shared governance. This year the Executive Committee will forward the following three names to the Governor: Michael Anker, Diablo Valley College, Philosophy; Linda Collins, Los Medanos College, Sociology; and Janis Perry, Santa Ana College, Counseling. The three candidates are highly qualified to represent the faculty of the 108 California Community Colleges to the Board of Governors.

In addition to the above, the Committee will also be responsible for overseeing the awards processes for the Hayward Award, Laroche Award, the Regina Stanback Stroud Award and Exemplary Program Award. The Board of Governors sponsors the Hayward and Exemplary Program awards. The Hayward Award is given to one faculty member from each of the four areas in recognition of excellence in education. The Regina Stanback Stroud Award is given to four faculty members from each of the four areas in recognition of faculty in California community colleges who work to promote the success of our diverse student population. The Exemplary Program Award is rewarded to one program in each of the four areas. It identifies successful community college programs that impact student success. The Jonnah LaRoche Memorial Scholarship provides two scholarships for two continuing students and one for a transfer student. The Standards and Practices Committee will also be reviewing proposed bylaws changes and continuing to develop strategies to increase compliance with regulations regarding fair and effective hiring practices and to enhance the role of local senates in faculty hiring processes. The Standards and Practices Committee looks forward to working with the many groups across the state that will help us fulfill our missions and those of the Academic Senate.