Diversity Award

Resolution Number: 
Assigned to : 
Equity and Diversity

Whereas, despite the passage of Proposition 209, there should be continued efforts made on the part of faculty to promote the success of our diverse student population, and

Whereas there are faculty in California Community Colleges who, in fact, work in very special and important ways to promote this success, and

Whereas the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges should act in a positive way to acknowledge the work of faculty making special contributions in the areas of student success for diverse students,

Resolved that the Academic Senate create a diversity leadership award to be given to a faculty member from each Area, based on, but not limited to, the following criteria:
a. Demonstrated sensitivity to diverse learning styles as shown by specific examples.
b. Demonstrated help to students to encourage retention and success in classes.
c. Demonstrated help to students to reach their goals, whether they be occupational, transfer, or other.
d. Demonstrated encouragement of students in encouraging them to become part of campus life and activities.
e. Demonstrated sensitivity to create a campus climate and environment friendly to students of diverse backgrounds and interests.

Status Report: 

The Executive Committee adopted the criteria developed by the AA/CD committee and the Standards and Practices Committee to implement these awards. Thanks to the efforts of Executive Director Julie Adams the Foundation for California Community Colleges , Larry Toy, president/CEO, agreed to donate at least $2000 so that four awards of $500 can be made beginning in the fall, 2000. Upon a motion offered by past president Bill Scroggins, the Executive Committee voted to name the award the Regina Stanback-Stroud award, honoring a former Senate president who has been a long time advocate of affirmative action and diversity. Regina received a plaque and special recognition at the Spring, 2000 session, when the award was announced.