2021 Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award

2022 Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award information will be posted shortly.


The Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award seeks to honor the cadre of committed faculty who consistently rise to meet the challenges our students face.  Serving the most diverse student population of any higher education system in the country, the California Community Colleges System is largely comprised of demographic groups that have traditionally faced barriers to education and are often underprepared when they reach the classroom.  It is the challenge and responsibility of California community college faculty to demonstrate the sustained attention and support necessary to fully engage and excite these students.  This prestigious award acknowledges an individual or group that is exceptional in contributing to the advancement of intercultural harmony, equity, and campus diversity at their college.

Basic Information:

  • Each college may nominate one faculty member or one group of faculty.
  • The winner receives a cash award of $5,000
  • All faculty are eligible: Full-time and part-time, classroom and non-classroom.
  • The completed application must be received by the Academic Senate Office by 5:00 p.m. on February 8, 2021.

The selection process will be completed by Spring each year.  The award recipient will be honored at the Spring Plenary Session in April. Please note, that the recipients of this award will be asked to submit a current photo. Although only one faculty recipient or group will be honored, we hope each college will honor its individual nominee.


The Regina Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award Winners

San Joaquin Delta College’s Social Justice and Equity Committee
2020 Regina Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award Winner

Danielle Powell
Skyline College
2018 Regina Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award Winner

Leslie Simon
City College of San Francisco
2017 Regina Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award Winner

Jennifer Dorian, Ph.D.
Fresno City College
2016 Regina Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award Winner

Shannon Vellone Mills, Amanda Wolcott Paskey and Anastasia Panagakos
Cosumnes River College
2015 Regina Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award Winners

Liesel Reinhart
Mt. San Antonio College
2013 Regina Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award Winner


Past Diversity Award Winners