Requiring C grades for Cal-GETC

Resolution Number
Assigned to
ICAS Representatives
Intersegmental Issues

Whereas, The California General Education Transfer Curriculum (Cal-GETC) was approved by the Intersegmental Committee of Academic Senates to be the “singular general education pathway for California Community College (CCC) students to fulfill lower-division general education requirements necessary for transfer and admission to both the California State University (CSU) and the University of California (UC)" [1];

Whereas, The California General Education Transfer Curriculum Standards document states that “a minimum ‘C’ grade is required in each college course for Cal-GETC” and that “a ‘C’ is defined as a minimum of 2.0 grade points on a 4.0 scale” [2];

Whereas, Requiring a grade of C or higher (on a 4.0 scale) for all courses on Cal-GETC will create a system of inequity for transfer students whereby transfer students will be held to more restrictive standards for general education completion than native students of the University of California (UC) or California State University (CSU) systems, as some UCs and CSUs may allow grades of less than C in general education courses as long as students maintain an overall grade point average of 2.0; and

Whereas, The majority of California community college students transfer to a CSU, requiring them to meet the more restrictive standards of UC general education (GE) completion will potentially block community college students who would have met CSU GE requirements but under Cal-GETC are required to meet the stricter UC GE requirements for acquiring an associate degree for transfer;

Resolved, That the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges recommend to intersegmental partners that they allow completion of the California General Education Transfer Curriculum with an overall 2.0 GPA or higher (on a 4.0 scale) with C or better in Areas 1A, 1B, 1C, and 2 [3].


1. Cal-GETC Standards page 3:
2. Cal-GETC Standards page 20:
3. Areas 1A, 1B, 1C, and 2 on Cal-GETC refer to the Golden 4 areas required for minimum admission to the CSU system.  Courses must be completed with grades of “C-“ or higher (on a 4.0 scale) to be eligible for admission.